Book review: The Alexander & Maya Series ~ Ella Maise

Posted September 14, 2015 in Reviews by Marieke/ 0 Comments

Book review: The Alexander & Maya Series ~ Ella MaiseTitle: Lost Prelude & Lost Heartbeats
Author: Ella Maise
Series: Alexander & Maya
Release date: August 13th 2015
(Sub)genres: Contemporary Romance
Pages: 430
Buy: Amazon US
Rating: four-half-stars

Book 1
My name is Maya, and I'm not the same girl I was a month ago.
There is an emptiness I carry around in my chest now. A broken heart caused by grief.
There are also dark nights where I have trouble breathing as I feel the heavy weight of loss rushing through my veins, painful moments where I can remember my entire being scream in agony as I held onto my father's cold, lifeless hand.

Then there is always a hero to every story, isn't there? A hero who I despised from the moment he opened his mouth.

His name is Alexander. He is my inevitable I never expected to find. The one my broken heart leads me to. His existence, his touch, everything he did to make my pain bearable will leave a mark on me forever.
Yet, I know that when I'm gone, he'll only remember me as a fading memory.

Book 2
My name is Alexander, and I'm no fucking hero. Not when I couldn't even save the little heartbeats I was supposed to protect with my life.

When a fist closes around my heart after a death brings me to my knees, I finally go after the woman I'd been craving for months. Not just because her beautiful face is the only thing that slips through the pain when I close my eyes, but because she has secretly carved a place for herself in my heart - leaving me with no choice.

But if I do this, if I make myself believe that I deserve her, will the choices I make ruin everything between us? Will she accept the fact that she doesn't get to leave me twice?

This review is for both books in the Alexander & Maya series; Lost Prelude and Lost Heartbeats.

In the first book, grieving Maya comes to New York to fulfill her father’s dying wish; find his estranged brother. Drowning in sorrow and pain she stays a week in a hotel where see meets Alexander. Arrogant, very handsome and never with the same woman. After some hot encounters between herself and Alexander, Maya leaves New York to go back to Sweden, her own country.

In the second book we not only see Maya’s POV, we also get a closer look into the thoughts of Alexander. After four months without Maya, Alexander decides he must see her, to see if they have a chance at a real relationship. Back in New York the couple faces some though challenges…

My thoughts:
These are the first books I’ve read by Ella Maise. I really loved her writing, her way with words. They sucked me into the world of Maya and Alexander.

The first book was completely in Maya’s POV. Sometimes I really wished I could have seen a glimpse of Alexander’s thoughts. One moment he was all caring for Maya, the other moment stone cold… I did feel chemistry, but not an overwhelming love… In this book I felt so sad for Maya. She lost her only living relative, her dad. It all felt so real.

The second book really made this series for me. Both Maya and Alexander have their POV. A lot of things are explained and make sense. My heart broke for Alexander. What Claire, his ex-wife, did was horrible, devastating. It will bring the strongest man to his knees.. And his family.. No words…

What I did feel in this second book was Love, Real Love.. Between Alexander and Maya. I understood their struggles and thoughts. But in the end, they choose for eachother.

I highly recommend this series!


Leave a Reply